FIREARMS TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
- Louisiana law states that an applicant shall demonstrate competence with a handgun.
- Applicants must provide a copy of proof of training with their original (5 year or lifetime) or renewal application.
- Lifetime permit holders will have to provide proof of recertification training every 5 years.
- Approved firearms safety training tuition costs vary by organization and are not regulated by the DPS&C.
- A list of approved instructors can be found HERE.
- Original Applications - Specific modes of demonstrating competence are listed in LRS 40:1379.3 (D)(1) and also in LAC 55:I.1311.A
- Renewal Applications - Specific modes of demonstrating competence are listed in LAC 55:I.1311.B.
- Training for both applications shall include:
- instruction on handgun nomenclature and safe handling;
- instruction on ammunition knowledge and fundamentals of pistol shooting;
- instruction on handgun shooting positions;
- instruction on the use of deadly force and conflict resolution which shall include a review of R.S. 14:18 through 14:22 and which may include a review of any other laws relating to the use of deadly force;
- instruction on child access prevention; and
- actual live range fire and proper handgun cleaning procedures
GENERAL APPLICATION INFORMATION
- You must submit a “New” permit application if:
- This is the first time you have applied for a permit in Louisiana.
- Your previous permit has been expired for more than 60 days.
- Your previous application was denied or your permit was revoked.
- If not submitting an online application, submit the completed, original application form included in the application packet. Please print legibly or type the data in the form fields. Do not send photocopied or double-sided applications. Affidavits must be notarized within sixty (60) days of the application date.
- For purposes of obtaining a permit, “resident” is defined in LRS 40:1379.3(J)(3) and LAC 55:I:1305.
- For proof that an applicant has resided within this state prior to his/her application for a permit, the applicant shall submit with the application a photocopy of their valid Louisiana driver’s license or Louisiana identification card.
- Photocopies of any other documentation, if required, MUST clearly show all names, signatures and other pertinent information. Copies which are too dark or too light and do not show all pertinent information cannot be accepted. DO NOT SEND ORIGINALS, UNLESS SPECIFICALLY REQUIRED TO DO SO, AS THEY CANNOT BE RETURNED.
- Fingerprint Cards - Fingerprint cards must be signed and filled out completely, including your name and signature, address, date of birth, place of birth, social security number (SSN – see below) and your physical characteristics (sex, race, height,etc.).
- Two (2) fingerprint cards must be submitted. Both cards must be legible. Fingerprints should be taken/rolled by trained fingerprint technicians on a complete, legible, and classifiable FBI applicant fingerprint card by a person employed by a law enforcement agency. Fingerprint cards that are not legible will be returned to the applicant and will cause a delay in processing the application. Note: When being printed on AFIS, you must have your prints taken twice (do not print the same set twice). When prints are done with ink, you must submit two different cards.
- The social security number (SSN) is requested on the application in order for the Department of Public Safety and Corrections to fully conduct a criminal history background check on all applicants as required by law. The social security number will be used for Criminal Justice purposes only. Such information will be utilized to verify identification and ensure that applicants have no arrests, convictions, or warrants that would make them ineligible for a permit. Inclusion of your social security number is optional and will not constitute grounds for denial. However, verification of your eligibility to carry a concealed handgun is not optional. As such, failure to include the social security number may result in a delay of approving your application.
- Marital Status – If you have ever been divorced, you must provide the department with a copy of the divorce settlement, decree, or final judgment along with any other orders or injunctions of the court. Failure to include this information will result in the delay of your application. If you are submitting this application as a Renewal, and you have previously submitted this information, it is not necessary to include in your application again.
- Criminal Offense, Arrests, Detentions and Litigation - Criminal Offense: an act punishable by law. If you have ever been arrested, charged, detained, indicted, or summoned for any criminal offense or violation, EVEN THOSE CHARGES WHICH YOU BELIEVE TO HAVE BEEN DROPPED, DISMISSED, NOLLE PROS, EXPUNGED, etc., you must answer “YES” to the arrest questions (Question #7) and submit certified true copies of the final court disposition of the case with your application. You must list all violations of law or municipal ordinances, except those such as traffic violations (speeding, red light, expired license, etc.). Failure to answer this question correctly will result in the denial of your application.
- FAILURE TO LIST ALL ARRESTS, DETENTIONS, AND LITIGATION MAY RESULT IN DELAY OR DENIAL OF THE PERMIT, AND OTHER CRIMINAL PENALTIES AS ALLOWED BY LAW. NOTE: The issuance of a Citation or Summons is an arrest and must be listed.
- You must still list violations that were EXPUNGED, DISMISSED, or SET ASIDE through either Article 893, Article 894, R.S. 40:983, or for which you were PARDONED and you must provide certified documentation of each arrest with your application.
- Military Service - If you have served in the Armed Forces of the United States, you must include a copy of your Department of Defense Forms 214, 256 or 257 (type of discharge must be listed). If you are currently in the military and are using the military discount, you must include a copy of your most recent orders or a copy of your military ID , if allowed (for LAARNG, as noted in 126.96.36.199. “the cardholder may allow photocopying of their ID card to facilitate DoD benefits”).
- Medical Information - If you answered “yes” to any of the medical questions #13-19, the Medical Summary must be completed by the treating physician or your Medical Doctor(no Physicians Assistants). This information MUST be included with your application.
Permit holders will be notified in writing at their address of record approximately 120 days before the expiration of their permit to begin the renewal process; however, it is the responsibility of the permittee to renew their permit in a timely manner.
Upon notification, apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit in one of the following ways:
- Complete and submit the online Concealed Handgun Permit Application.
- Download a Concealed Handgun Permit Application and complete the instructions found on pages one and two of the application.
- Obtain an application at the State Police Headquarters (7919 Independence Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806) between the hours of 7:30 am and 3:30 pm, Monday - Friday.
- Submit the renewal application with a new training certificate, a photocopy of your driver's license, and the appropriate fees. Submission of a fingerprint card is not needed for renewal applications (unless your fingerprints are not on file).
The completed application should be returned to the Department no less than 90 days before the expiration of the permit to allow sufficient time for processing.
You must submit your application within 60 days after the expiration date, or you will be required to submit a new original application to possibly include fingerprints.