Troop E History

Troop E is headquartered in Alexandria and currently serves ten parishes (Winn, Sabine, Natchitoches, Vernon, Rapides, Avoyelles, Grant, LaSalle, Catahoula, and Concordia). Geographically, Troop E is the largest troop spanning from Texas to Mississippi. It is nestled in Central Louisiana among the piney hills to the hardwood bottoms and swamps. Troopers from Troop E are responsible for patrolling over 9,000 highway miles on a daily basis.

As diverse as is the landscape, so are the citizens that the Troopers protect and the Troopers themselves. The Troopers from Troop E come from a wide background of educational fields of study, prior military experience, and prior law enforcement experience. The men and women of Troop E have always prided themselves on family values, community involvement, and partnerships with other law enforcement agencies.

Troop E was first located at the intersection of Lee Street at Masonic Drive in Alexandria. This location served as Troop E Headquarters until 1958.

In 1958 Troop E Headquarters was relocated to MacArthur Drive in Alexandria. This location served as Troop E Headquarters until 1968.

In 1968 Troop E Headquarters was relocated to North MacArthur Drive near the old North Traffic Circle. This location served as Troop E Headquarters until 2000 and was nicknamed "Fort Wagner" after the current Troop Commander, at that time, Charles E. Wagner. In 2000, Troop E was relocated to the present location on Odom Street in Alexandria.

In the late 1950's, Troop E operated with less than 30 cars and approximately 50 troopers. It was not uncommon to have a trooper and a deputy patrol together, in the same vehicle, on weekend shifts. Daily work shifts were broken down into three eight-hour shifts. It was not until 1979 when troopers from Troop E started working twelve-hour shifts. Troop E was one of three Troops to evaluate this pilot program. Today, the men and women of Troop E are still working twelve-hour shifts.

Originally, Troop E was comprised of eight parishes (Winn, LaSalle, Grant, Catahoula, Concordia, Rapides, Natchitoches, and Avoyelles). In 1969, Avoyelles Parish became the responsibility of troopers from Troop K in Opelousas. It was not until 1988 when Avoyelles Parish once again became the responsibility of Troop E. Also in 1988, Troop E gained Vernon and Sabine Parishes with the closure of Troop H in Leesville. With the closure of Troop H, Troop E acquired approximately 75% of its personnel and with the closure of Troop K; Troop E acquired several troopers from Avoyelles Parish.


Troop E Commanders

Commander From To
D. C. Allen    
Houston D. Greene    
Leslie Cave    
Douglas Durrett    
Edgar R. Lemons    
E. C. Lyles    
Frank P. Connella    
Charles E. Wagner    
Charles L. Liberto    
Tommy Hollingsworth    
Ned Moon    
Ronnie Stephens    
Ned Moon    
Richard Patrick    
Bob Garifo    
Jimmy Price    
Edsel Smith    
William R. "Rut" Whittington    
Sherman Hicks    
Barry Roach    
George Elliott    
Geoffrey Bordelon    
Terry Ward    
Joel "Young" Kilpatrick    
Kenneth Moore    
Mike Rawson    
Jay D. Oliphant Jr.    
Jason A. Smith    


Currently Troop E is comprised of 81 troopers of various ranks, eight communication officers, and three clerical workers. All of these men and women are very dedicated to ensuring the safety of the citizens of Louisiana.