Louisiana.gov > DPS > Louisiana State Police > Sections of LSP > Superintendent Text Size
Click here to visit the LSP 75th Anniversary Page

Colonel Michael D. Edmonson

Superintendent – Louisiana State Police

Deputy Secretary–Department of Public Safety & Corrections

Colonel Michael D. Edmonson

7919 Independence Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70806

Biography Information

In 2008, Colonel Michael D. Edmonson was appointed 25th Superintendent of the Louisiana State Police. He also serves as Deputy Secretary of Public Safety Services. This responsibility spans an agency of more than 2800 employees, with a budget over $400 million and collections of over $2.5 billion in revenue. As Deputy Secretary, he oversees along with the Louisiana State Police, the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission, the Office of Management and Finance, the Office of Motor Vehicles, the Office of State Fire Marshal, the Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator's Office, and the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission.

Colonel Edmonson has served as a Louisiana State Trooper for over 35 years. He is a graduate of Louisiana State University, FBI National Academy, FBI National Executive Institute, Naval Post Graduate School and Jewish Institute for National Security. He had the privilege of serving his alma mater for 26 years as Head of Security for the LSU football team and every head coach from Coach Stovall to Coach Miles.

Boards, Commissions & Non-Profit Organizations

  • LA Commission on Law Enforcement
  • Governor's Drug Policy Board
  • Louisiana State Police Retirement Fund
  • LACAP Federal Credit Union Board
  • Witness Protection Services Board
  • Louisiana Special Olympics
  • Autism Children's Advocacy Center
  • Information Technology Advisory Board
  • Louisiana Trooper Foundation

In 2012, Colonel Edmonson was appointed to the prestigious International Association of Chiefs of Police as General Chair of the State and Provincial Police Section representing state and provincial level law enforcement organizations throughout U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico. In this capacity, he also served as a member of the IACP Executive Board of Directors.


  • FBI Washington DC, Top 25 Police Administrators Award 2009
  • Sheriff Buford Pusser National Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award 2013
  • Human Trafficking, Faces of Hope Award 2013
  • Inner City Entrepreneur (ICE) Institute Top Cop Award 2013
  • American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators Martha Irwin Award for Lifetime Achievement in Highway Safety 2014
  • New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau, Captain Katz Lifetime Award for Outstanding Achievement in Public Safety 2015